So, as I said, I started couchsurfing a few weeks ago. And I thought I'd tell you about my first experience of hosting!
 
 
I registered on a Thursday, and the day after I started to look on my homepage about Gothenburg. There's a "wall", find of like the one on facebook.
There was a guy, Germán, who wrote that ha was arriving that night and didn't have anything to do or anywhere to stay, so I wrote to him that he could stay with me!
 
Another guy, Harry, asked if anyone was up for a drink that night, so I invited him to hang out with me and my friends.
 
Harry and my friends had drinks and talked and had so much fun!  Harry is an amazing guy from Australia, who I got along with great from the start! We just clicked! I feel like I've known him for a long time!
He's been travelling and couchsurfing for about 3 years, so he had so many cool stories and experince with travelling and surfing.
I told him that he could stay with me the rest of his stay in Gothenburg, but that I might have another surfer, but in that case, we'll work it out.
 
Then I got a respons from Germán, that he just saw my message and had just checked into a hostel, but that he would be happy to stay with me the rest of the weekend. So we decided so meet up with him at a bar here in Gothenburg and had more beer and some good talk.
 
 
Me and Harry
 

Saturday
 
Harry came to my place at lunch-time, and we rushed to Systembolaget(the only store where you can buy alcohol in Sweden, that closes early on saturdays and is closed on sundays....) to buy beer.
 
After a coulpe of hours Germán arrived on a bike. He had been kayaking in Gothenburg, and found a bike in the water, so he grabbed it and rode the bike to my place. He used the bike his entire stay, haha.
 
We went to the store and bought lots of food. Then I got tired, so they told me to take a nap while they made dinner. After dinner, a friend of mine came here and we played King's Cup, a drinking game.
Then we hit a pub where two friends of mine were playing live music. GREAT night.
 
 
 
 
Sunday
 
We slept a looong time, and then we went to a "Sunday Fika", a couchsurfing-meetup here in Gothenburg.
When we got there, we didn't know how to find the others, so we just bought ourselfs fika(a swedish word for having coffe or tea with some kind of cake or cookie).
A guy came up to us asking if we were couchsurfers. Then more and more people came, and we had to put 8 or 9 tables together. By the end, we were probably around 30 couchsurfers from all over the world!
 
Then I went home to prepare a typical swedish dish for my surfers, and two exchange-students who live here in Gothenburg. So I made meatballs with mashed potatoes, brownsause and lingonberry-jam.
By coincidence, the two exchange-students where also from argentina and australia. Just like my two surfers!
 
Anyways, the food was very much appreciated, and we all ate til out stomachs hurt!
Then it was time for dessert - pineapplepie with ice cream. Sound weird, but it is one of the tastiest things in this world! Everyone loved it!
 
 
German, Jazmin, Christy and Harry
 
Monday
 
On Monday morning, Germán was leaving for Italy. Oh, this guy. I have never met a person more happy than Germán! He is so genuine, kind and really doing his own thing! He lives for theatre and kayaking.
He gave me a keychain with a green kayak, and a really big, cosy hug.
 
When I got back from work that night, Harry had cleaned the entire kitchen!
 
The next morning he had to leave, but I know that I will meet this guy again! He is not a stranger who stayed with me - he is a friend!!
 
 
 
 

Liknande inlägg

Kommentera

Publiceras ej