I joined couchsurfing 2 weeks ago. This weekend, I'm having my third surfer!
I'm so excited and love this idea. But I've noticed that most of my friends don't know what it is. 
 
What is couchsurfing?
 
Basically, It's a community that allows you to get in touch with people all over the world, and if you go to a city, you can find someone who has a couch that you can sleep on. For free.
Also, you can offer people who come to your city to sleep on your couch, for free.
Or you could just find people to hang out with when your in town.
 
 
Isn't it dangerous?
 
I would say no. I have talked to lots and lots of people about their experiences, and I've searched on the internet but all I can find are positive things.
And the webpage is kind of like facebook, but for travellers. You have pictures of yourself, you can write about yourself and you can leave and get references.
If you get, or sen a request - you can always say no if it doesn't feel right.
You can chat with people so that you can get a feel of the person.
Also, you should not meet at your/their home for the first time. You should arrange a meeting place in town so that you have the chance to decline if something isn't right.
 
 
How come I started couchsurfing?
 
Actually, it was my fathers idea. Since I am planning to do a eurotrip this summer on my own, he suggested it to save money. I looked into it, became a member and the next day I met my first couchsurfer!
 
 
What is the best thing about couchsurfing?
 
The people of course! Meeting people from all over the world with different cultures and experiences. I also think that a lot of the people who couchsurf is very open-minded and kind. Otherwise you wouldn't be doing it.
There are also weekly meetups in most big cities. I've only been a member for 15 days, and I've already been to a meetup on in Gothenburgh, Sweden and one in Edinburgh, Scotland. It's amazing! So many people show up from all over the world! There were about 30 people on the meeing in Sweden, and around 50 in Scotland.
It is such a fun mix of people!
 
Also, It is a great way to learn languages better and also a great way to meet new friends!
 
 
 
couchsurfing, people, soffsurfa, travelbug, wanderlust,

Liknande inlägg

Kommentera

Publiceras ej